Burgess Health Center

Located in Onawa, Iowa, Burgess Health Center is an award-winning critical access hospital that is accredited by the State of Iowa. Burgess Family Clinics serve the communities of Mapleton and Sloan in Iowa. Burgess also has a retail family pharmacy in Whiting, Iowa.


Burgess Health Center is committed to improving the quality of life for the people and communities we serve by providing excellent healthcare and exceptional patient experiences.


To be the best rural healthcare system in America.


Accountability: Taking responsibility for performance.
Service Excellence: Dedication to meeting the needs of others in the organization.
Integrity: Acting in a consistent, principled manner.
Innovation: Constantly seeking ways to increase effectiveness or reduce costs.
Collaboration: Working with others to accomplish common goals.
Stewardship: Managing financial resources responsibly.

Our Beginnings

On July 14, 1963, the community gathered to dedicate Burgess Memorial Hospital, situated on a 10-acre site at the west edge of Onawa.

Exterior of Burgess Memorial Hospital in 1963

Work toward this day began in 1959 when it became apparent that the old Onawa Hospital could no longer meet increasingly stringent state fire and health regulations. A board to oversee a new hospital organized Feb. 13, 1959, with Dr. William P. Garred serving as chair. The board soon applied for a federal Hill-Burton grant and began organizing a campaign to raise $628,000 for a new 37-bed hospital.

In April 1961, local attorney Albert W. Burgess stepped forward with a $100,000 gift to the project. On April 16, 1962, Mr. Burgess helped turn the first shovels of dirt at the groundbreaking ceremony.

Since then, the hospital has responded to the changing healthcare environment and local needs with expansions in services and facilities. In 1997 the name changed to Burgess Health Center.


Burgess Senior Leaders

Lynn Wold, President/CEO

Jim Gobell, vice president of finance

Erin Brekke, vice president of support services

Teresa Butler, sr. vice president of clinical services

Grady Warner, vice president of information technology

Burgess Health Center Board Members

Keith Schrunk OD Anthon, chairman

Mari Miller Onawa, vice chairman

Amy Maule Turin, secretary and treasurer

Sheila Duarte DDS Onawa

Paul Dudley MD Onawa

Beau Hupke Onawa

Matt Minnihan Onawa

Dr. Terry Murrell Sioux City

Jeff Pratt Onawa

Andy Tirevold Mapleton